Trout fishing on stocking date

Robert Medina

Anyone interested in going to target trout on January 13th or the 20th? I want to hit up the canyon tailrace. Most likely the southern part closer to New Braunfels. I plan on going morning to mid-morning and staying until late afternoon or whenever I get my limit. Let me know if you're interested.

Robert Medina

Looks like I will be going on the 20th if anyone is interested. I will probably be there all day or until the sun goes down. I haven't decided if I will be wading or kayaking, so I am up for suggestions.

Robert Medina

Getting my gear ready for this Friday. Haven't decided if I will fish the Trophy Zone or not. I think I will, so that I can catch and release until I get that trophy. I am new to trout fishing. I've read some of the older posts but does anyone have any suggestions? Maybe something that has worked this season? Also, I am not sure if I want to wade or take the kayak. I will have a buddy with me and its his first time, so any suggestions are appreciated. Even tips on what to take, such as gear, tackle, etc.

Fishmaster150

Moderator/pro staff "AnytimeOutdoors"
Staff member
Since it's first time Keep it simple.
Bank or wade fish.
Learn the river a bit she can be a cruel one. Especially with the rains recent the water will be high and fast.
I recommend the lower end camp huaco or just north to start. Plenty of fish to get your feet wet with. I usually pull a trophy out of camp huaco every year.
Ultralight tackle is key. Trout have the best eyes in fresh water and will be line shy 9-10 times light line helps a lot. #4 triline is all I use.
Small small hooks and just enough weight to keep your offering in the lower water column or bumping bottom in the strike zone.
Roostertails,meps,crappie sized lures jigs etc. soft plastic worms in 3" work great.